TikTok Needs You To Pause Earlier than Watching State-Managed Media

TikTok is now labeling state-affiliated media in additional than 40 new markets, together with the US, Canada and far of Europe, the social media firm mentioned Wednesday. It is an extension of a pilot program run in Belarus, Russia and Ukraine in 2022.

TikTok mentioned its coverage is to label accounts “whose editorial output or decision-making course of is topic to regulate or affect by a authorities.” The coverage might be expanded even additional at a later date, the corporate mentioned. Accounts labeled as state affiliated can have a possibility to enchantment.

When customers scroll to a video from an account with TikTok’s state-controlled label, they will get a pop-up disclaimer advising them to pause and take into account whether or not the content material is pushing an agenda favorable to a authorities. 

Two phone screens showing TikTok's pop-up disclaimer label for state-controlled media as well as a page explaining the policy.

TikTok started rolling out its label for content material from state-affiliated media to over 40 extra international locations in January 2023.


TikTok says it companions with unbiased specialists to determine which accounts ought to be thought-about managed by governments, and considers quite a lot of components just like the publication’s mission, funding, employees and management, and editorial tips when figuring out whether or not customers ought to be alerted in regards to the account’s content material. Getting funding from governments does not routinely qualify an account for the label, relying on editorial protections.

The transfer comes as TikTok faces rising scrutiny within the US, with a number of universities, states and the federal authorities contemplating or enacting bans towards the app on some units. 

This is the total checklist of nations that TikTok’s state-affiliated media coverage is being expanded to: Afghanistan, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Eire, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mongolia, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, the UK, america and Uzbekistan. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button